Guest post from Juhi Misra, a PhD researcher in the Dept. of Human Metabolism J1 Like any other ‘normal’ PhD student, I too panic whenever I get an email from my supervisor, the first thought being ‘oh no more work, more deadlines why doesn’t he/she just leave me in my world of procrastination’. But this email was different, my supervisor had introduced to me to an opportunity, one that I would have never heard of, let alone dreamed of achieving.   Prof Bellantuono introduced me to ‘Set for Britain’. Surprisingly it is not one of the annual marathons or charity events nor is it one of the pump priming grant applications, in fact it is your entry pass to the UK parliament. Set for Britain is a competition organized by the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee where young researchers from different fields of science showcase their research to members of the parliament, politicians and other researchers from esteemed institutes in the UK. The overall aim of SET for Britain is to encourage, support and promote Britain’s early-stage and early-career researchers who are key to the UK’s continued progress in R&D. Researchers are shortlisted from hundreds of applicants to appear in Parliament and judged by leading academics against dozens of other peers in the only national competition of its kind. The gold medalist receives £3,000, while silver and bronze receive £2,000 and £1,000 respectively. This was surely an incredibly prestigious opportunity for an international researcher like myself to showcase my research work to UK parliamentarians at a national level. So I did apply although very last minute, which was surely not a good idea (stress wise) but to my delight I was invited to present on the 9th of March 2015 at the House of Commons, Westminster. I had to prepare a poster defining my complex science work in the simplest of ways to get the key message across to the parliamentarians and panel of 16 judges with diverse research experiences. It was challenging but a very exciting experience for me, and although I didn’t win but I made it to the top 10 and was highly appreciated for my poster being one the best in my session. J2 I also met Andrew Miller MP and Chairman of Parliamentary and Scientific Committee and my local MP, Paul Blomfield (Labour Party, Sheffield) who attended the event and discussed the importance of my research work. The highlight of the event for me was definitely the opportunity to network with brilliant researchers from different disciplines of research in the UK. I would surely recommend all budding biologists, mathematicians, chemists and physicist to definitely participate in this event to not only obtain everlasting glory of presenting your research at the parliament but also to build really strong networks for future career development. You can find all the information for this event on: www.setforbritain.org.uk