#sheffvista 63 Dr Sophie Crouchman, Senior Planning Officer

Each Friday we post a new v i s t a profile, a career beyond the academy story (use the tags at the bottom of the post to find the entire list). These posts accompany our curated events to support post-PhD career transitions, v i s t a mentoring, and also #sheffvista on Twitter.

Job Title and Company: Senior Planning Officer, Loughborough University

Approximate salary range for your type of role: £40k-£50k

IMG_E3157[1].JPGA brief history, 1999 – 2018: Having thoroughly enjoyed my Undergraduate degree in Biochemistry at Sheffield, starting a PhD in 2002 was the natural next step for me. However, it’s safe to say that actually doing my PhD was nothing like I had anticipated! I studied the role of a small protein called PsbS in plant photosynthesis and was part of a thriving and successful research group. I learned a huge amount, made some great friends, travelled the world (and met my current partner!) but I also realised that I wasn’t suited to a traditional academic career. This realisation required some serious adjustment on my part as up until that point I had been set on following this path.

I moved away from Sheffield in 2006 when I was writing up my thesis and started job-hunting in my new home in the East Midlands. I focussed on the parts of my PhD that I had enjoyed the most – working in a University, with academic colleagues; writing up my thesis and the intellectual challenge that comes from working with data. I applied for roles in several Universities and was fortunate enough to receive a job offer from Loughborough University, which I started in November 2006 at the same time as writing up my thesis (something I wouldn’t necessarily recommend if you want to have any kind of life!). My first role was in the Planning Office – an area of the University which, as a student, I had no idea even existed!

What is Planning? I never tire of hearing the question “so what exactly do you do?” – even from colleagues within the University! Although Planners are increasingly becoming more visible, some of what we do day-to-day is fairly hidden and the job titles don’t always help either! All Universities are structured slightly differently but here at Loughborough the Planning Office is part of the Vice-Chancellor’s office and we report to the Deputy Vice Chancellor, meaning we are very close to the University’s senior executive. The main functions of the Planning Office encompass:

  • The development & delivery of the University’s Strategy
  • Support for planning and resource allocation – including working with Finance on the University’s budget and business plans; providing support for major University projects and working with Academic Schools & Professional Services on their local plans
  • Support for key University Committees & the University’s governance processes
  • Provision of management information – including the preparation of external statutory returns; production of data to support key management decisions and planning and analysis of published data including league tables and the outcomes of exercises such as the Research Excellence Framework

My first role in Planning spanned a broad range of duties, from committee servicing to student data analysis, budgetary planning to statutory returns as part of a small team of professionals. Since I started at Loughborough in 2006 I’ve been able to take on a variety of roles and I’ve worked in HR; Facilities Management; Academic Registry and in our School of Arts, English & Drama. I feel really privileged to have been able to move around the institution and lucky to have had the support of colleagues at Loughborough to do this throughout the 12 years I have worked here.  I moved back into the Planning Office as Senior Planning Officer when the opportunity arose in 2013. The Planning Office has changed quite significantly since 2006 and my current role is immensely enjoyable because of the range of projects I am involved in. No two weeks are ever the same and even after 5 years in this role, I’m constantly being exposed to new opportunities and developing my skills.

My current role involves acting as Secretary to 2 University Committees (including Audit Committee) a Project Management Board & the University’s Data Management Group; working closely with colleagues in HR on the HESA staff return and the analysis of staff data; working with colleagues in Student Recruitment, Admissions & Marketing and in Finance on the University’s Access & Participation Plan; supporting Schools & Services in the delivery of the University Strategy ‘Building Excellence’ through our Quadrennial Review process and our annual Academic Leadership Team away days, alongside supporting other ad hoc strategic projects for the Director of Planning or members of the University’s Executive.

In addition, I’ve recently been seconded to Research England to act as Secretary to 3 REF2021 Sub-Panels throughout 2018 which is a really exciting opportunity to be part of preparations for the next Research Excellence Framework exercise.

But that’s got nothing to do with Biochemistry! If I had a pound for every shocked expression I’ve had when I tell someone what my PhD is in, I could probably give up work tomorrow! The fact is, I knew when I finished my PhD that I wanted to work in a University as I love the environment and I feel very fortunate to be able to work with some of the most intelligent people in their respective fields. Plus, the Loughborough campus is simply outstanding, and our students really are incredible. I am also very lucky to work in one of the most beautiful buildings on our campus!

Picture of Hazlerigg.JPG

In addition, there are so many transferrable skills I gained from my PhD that I’ve used in all my roles at Loughborough and doing a PhD is an excellent grounding for a career in University Professional Services.

The way I see it…

  • Analysing chlorophyll fluorescence measurements isn’t so different to analysing any other kind of data…staff recruitment; student intakes; room utilisation; research grant income…
  • Once you have stood up in front of a room of academics to explain the experiments you have been working on 24/7 for the last 3 years of your life, you can stand up in front of a room of academics to explain most other things!
  • Being secretary to the departmental Staff-PhD student liaison committee is good practice for being secretary to over a dozen different University Committees – even if Audit Committee meetings are a bit longer!
  • Juggling paper writing; experiments; writing a conference poster; helping projects students and writing your interim report is excellent preparation for the juggling that comes with a ‘real job’

Having a PhD and working in an academic environment, without being an academic, is not without its challenges. However, I would highly recommend a career in University Professional Services to anyone contemplating life post-PhD.

Where can researchers look for jobs like yours? Most jobs in Universities are advertised through jobs.ac.uk. Some Universities also run graduate trainee schemes which are a good way of experiencing the variety of roles a career in professional services can offer

What professional/accrediting bodies, or qualifications are relevant to where you work? In my area, there aren’t specific qualifications required, though most Universities look for evidence of learning beyond undergraduate level for progression into more senior roles. Anyone interested in a career in planning should look at our representative body HESPA – the Higher Education Strategic Planners Association – for more information.

Leave a comment